A look at the 2018 primary ballot

Alex Doty • Apr 25, 2018 at 10:00 AM

The ballot for the Aug. 7 primary election is beginning to take shape.

Prospective candidates had until 4 p.m. Tuesday to file for the upcoming primary election. 

”(Tuesday was) the filing deadline for partisan candidates,” said Ottawa County Elections Coordinator Steve Daitch. “It’s largely county commissioner, and state representative and state senator.”

Daitch noted that if someone still wanted to run for an office in the August primary, they could file as a write-in candidate. He said they have until two Fridays before the Aug. 7 election to file as a write-in candidate. The deadline this year is 4 p.m. July 27. Write-in candidates must submit a Write-In Candidate Declaration of Intent form in order to be elected.

Daitch noted that there are still several other deadlines coming up in regards to the 2018 election year:

— May 8 is the deadline for precinct delegate candidates.

— July 24 is the deadline for local school board positions, as well as Spring Lake Village Council president and council member.

Here’s a list of candidates who have filed to appear on the August primary ballot:

Michigan governor

Republicans: Patrick Colbeck, Brian Calley, Jim Hines, Bill Schuette

Democrats: Gretchen Whitmer, Abduk El-Sayed, Shri Thanedar

Libertarians: Bill Gelineau, John Tatar

U.S. House

Republican: Bill Huizenga (incumbent), Zeeland

Democrat: Rob Davidson, Spring Lake

Democrat: Nick Schiller, Grand Rapids

U.S. Senate

Republicans: John James, Sandy Pensler

Democrat: Debbie Stabenow (incumbent)

State Senate 30th District (4-year term)

Republicans: Rett DeBoer, Holland; Daniela Garcia, Holland; Joe Haveman, Holland; Roger Victory, Hudsonville

Democrat: Jeanette Schipper, Holland

Libertarian: Mary Buzuma, Grand Haven

State House 89th District (2-year term)

Republicans: Jim Lilly (incumbent), Holland; Beverly Zimmerman, Holland

Democrat: Jerry Sias, Spring Lake

Spring Lake Township Trustee, at-large (partial term)

Republican: Catherine A. Pavick

Ottawa County Commissioners

8th District

Republican: Greg DeJong (incumbent), Allendale

9th District

Republicans: Philip Kuyers (incumbent), West Olive; Pat VerDuin, Grand Haven

10th District

Republican: Roger A. Bergman (incumbent), Grand Haven

11th District

Republican: Matthew Fenske (incumbent), Grand Rapids

Grand Haven Tribune Videos